10 comments on “Au Hasard Balthazar (1966)

  1. I’m intrigued by this stripped-down style of filmmaking, as you’ve described it. This film sounds beautiful, and powerful – one that a person ought to see.

    Also, I like how you wrote this: “there is a kind of magic in this air of ambiguity”.

    Thanks for joining the blogathon and introducing me to this film. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have watched this before and the your article enables me to comprehend the beauty of this movie much better. Thank you. I am just waiting for a blu-ray upgrade to get it. I have watched this at TCM in the past.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is my favorite movie about a donkey. 🙂 Seriously, like a lot of Bresson, it is a meditation on life, which you captured well. Sometimes they are inaccessible or difficult to understand, but the journey is worth it.

    Thank for you participating!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Criterion Blogathon: Day 2 Recap | Criterion Blues .....

Leave a Reply

