10 comments on “Some Came Running (1958)

  1. I think this is an absolutely first rate piece of filmmaking.. I can’t think of any of the cast members who put a foot wrong and the performances are genuinely affecting.
    I love the way Minnelli puts it all together and his aesthetic is a big part of what makes the movie so great – I think it’s Minnelli’s masterpiece to be honest.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Sinatra Centennial Blogathon Day 1 | Movie classics

  3. This is a great performance by Sinatra and a powerful film, must agree – I like your comparison with The Best Years of Our Lives, since this is another damaged veteran coming home, and also your comment: “Frank Sinatra is the core of this film because he balances a surface level cynicism with genuine affection”. I really need to see this again! Thanks for your great posting, a superb contribution to the blogathon.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve only ever seen the middle of this film and never went back to watch the whole thing. Well, I’m going to fix that, now that I’ve read your terrific review.

    I agree that Sinatra was the core of the film, as you said. And he made it look so easy.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Announcing the Sinatra Centennial Blogathon | Movie classics

  6. “A 50’s variation of The Best Years of Our Lives” = the best description of this wonderful film! I was surprised by how good it was, and how many emotions it evoked. Unfortunately, rain started and the lights went off, and I couldn’t finish it. I read about the ending online, and was very surprised by it! I really like Dean here and, indeed, Frank is the center of it all.
    Don’t forget to read my contribution to the blogathon! 🙂
    Cheers!
    Le
    http://www.criticaretro.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

